Six More Burning Questions About Donna Paulsen of ‘Suits’

August 16, 2016 at 10:40 PM | Posted in Fandom, TV | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

I have previously said my piece about Donna Paulsen – my favorite character on Suits – and how I think she is being treated in season 6. While I’ve put out a list of the top questions I have about Donna that I think the show’s writers need to address one way or the other, I couldn’t help but wonder more about her.

Donna has made a lasting impression on me and the fans over the years. And the more I think about it, the more I have questions about her character and her background story. So I have made another list here in addition to the previous one which I think would tie up with all the burning questions I have about her and her story.

  1. How did Donna come up with her personal rule of not dating men she work with?

Season 3 of Suits saw Donna telling Harvey in a flashback episode that she doesn’t date men she is working with. How did this rule come about? Has it always been that way with her even before she started working at the NYC DA’s Office? Or does this apply only when she started working for Harvey Specter?

Darvey

Image credit: screencapped.net

And since she admitted that she’s in love with Harvey, would she have broken her rule if Harvey had been more open about his feelings for her?

  1. Does she secretly still want to pursue an acting career?

Fans of the show know that Donna always has a love for theater and that she previously wanted to become an actress but gave it up. But in season 4, she seemed to be starting her acting career again when she did Shakespeare in an episode. Considering that she seemed to be insecure about her position as Harvey’s secretary, is she thinking of pursuing an acting career again? Does her position at the firm leave her wanting more?

Image credit: tvshowtime.com

Image credit: tvshowtime.com

  1. Is Donna still allowing Harvey to pony up her salary?

When Donna found out that Harvey has been augmenting her salary for years without telling her, she got mad at him. Now I really find it hard to believe that Donna of all people didn’t know about this. She should have known years ago that Harvey was doing it. I mean, if I were to check my income tax returns and found any discrepancies in it, I would get suspicious. But I digress.

Image credit: tv.com

Image credit: tv.com

Anyway, when Donna went back to working for Harvey again, is she still allowing Harvey to do this? How does she feel about it?

  1. Where did she work before her job at the NYC DA’s Office?

Before working at Pearson Specter Litt, Donna worked at the NYC DA’s Office where she met and eventually worked for Harvey. But I’m curious if she ever had a job before that. When she wanted to become an actress, did she try working at any theater company or film studio? How many auditions she went to before finally giving up her acting career?

Image credit: screencapped.net

Image credit: screencapped.net

  1. Does she have any siblings?

I would imagine Donna having siblings. Her caring personality, especially towards Mike and Rachel seemed like she has taken care of a younger brother or sister. Sarah Rafferty, who plays Donna, mentioned in an interview before that she thinks Donna might have a brother. I would really like to think that too. I think it would greatly explain why she is sort of a mother hen towards Mike and Rachel, and even Louis.

SUITS -- "Self Defense" Episode 514 -- Pictured: (l-r) Sarah Rafferty as Donna Paulsen, Meghan Markle as Rachel Zane -- (Photo by: Ben Mark Holzberg/USA Network)

SUITS — “Self Defense” Episode 514 — Pictured: (l-r) Sarah Rafferty as Donna Paulsen, Meghan Markle as Rachel Zane — (Photo by: Ben Mark Holzberg/USA Network)

  1. When and where did she meet Mitchell?

After Donna’s heartbreak with Harvey, she started dating Mitchell – a guy whom Suitors haven’t even seen yet. I’m curious to know when and where Donna met him. Is he the guy she was supposed to have a date with in season 4? Donna was supposed to have a date with an unnamed guy in season 4 but she cancelled it because Harvey had problems with Louis about Forstman and he needed her. Is Mitchell that same guy or is he a new one whom Donna met?

Donna Paulsen

Image credit: screencapped.net

If he’s a new guy, when did she meet him and where? I would imagine Donna having a social life of her own and maybe she went out with friends after her confrontation with Harvey (you know, the confrontation about how Harvey couldn’t tell her how he loved her) and that’s where she met this guy. But I don’t know. The show’s writers haven’t given any details about this.

These are just my thoughts on Donna and I just think that there is more to her character than what Suits has been showing to the fans. I really hate to think that her character would stay undeveloped this season and in season 7. Every character should have growth and given more depth. While I’m glad that the show has let Harvey and Rachel grow as characters, it should also be the same for Donna.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

