An Ode (Sort of) to Star Wars

December 24, 2015 at 10:16 AM | Posted in Fandom, Geekdom, Movies | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I am one of the thousands of Star Wars fans out there who couldn’t wait to see the latest installment of the film franchise. I saw the original Star Wars films (A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi) on a VCR when I was a child. The movies were such a big deal in my family back then. I grew up in a big, ancestral house where my family and my aunt’s family lived together.

Star_Wars_The_Force_Awakens

My male cousins, aunt and two uncles would talk about Star Wars often and watched the films over and over on VCR. In fact, my relatives were such fans of Star Wars that they bought a tape of the making of the Star Wars movies and watched it again and again. Having lived in the same house with them, I was able to see the movies on tape and watched how the Star Wars movies were made including behind-the-scenes footage of how they filmed the action sequences involving the spaceships and droids. I was amazed by how spectacular the movies were and even more amazed by how they were made.

Star Wars posterBack then, I liked the movies enough but didn’t catch on with the important details. For one, I didn’t know the name of Han Solo’s ship (*gasp!*) nor the name of Darth Vader’s killer star (*double gasp!*). I know right?! But hey, I was a kid back then and English was not my first language. So I had trouble understanding the dialogue.

But over the years, I had the chance to watch the movies again as a young adult and came to love them. And I eventually learned all the important names in the movie franchise — yes, including the Millennium Falcon and Death Star.

So when Star Wars: The Force Awakens hit local cinemas, I went to see it as soon as I could. And it didn’t disappoint. It was spectacularly amazing. I felt nostalgic while watching it. The movie felt like it was an old friend I haven’t seen in a long time. It filled me with fun memories and I felt so at ease.

However, like most fans out there who’ve seen the movie, I have questions that are left unanswered by the end of the film. Check out my review of Star Wars: The Force Awakens here.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

