Me and the City

October 30, 2015 at 11:05 PM | Posted in Lifestyle, Musings | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I’m slowly conditioning myself to the fact that I will be leaving my apartment and moving to a new condo by next month with my sister. And while I’m so glad that my sister and I finally have a place of our own, I couldn’t help but feel sad about leaving. I’ve lived in Makati City for over ten years now and to move to another city will definitely be a jolt for me. I loved living in this city because it’s only minutes away from the central business district and the vibrant nightlife. Yes I know the city is known for its horrendous traffic, but then again so is everywhere. This is the Philippines after all.

A peek at Ayala Triangle Park in Makati

A peek at Ayala Triangle Park in Makati

But Makati is sort of a comfort zone for me. Somehow it doesn’t feel as crowded as Quezon City or any other city in Manila for that matter. I’ve gotten used to the hustle and bustle of Makati and its ever-changing city landscape. Shops have come and gone. New malls have sprung up. Parks have changed. But I can still live with that. That’s how it goes in the big city.

I think I’m going to miss my trips to Ayala Triangle Park where I used to jog at night. I’m going to miss seeing the skyscrapers along Ayala Avenue in the morning on my way to work. I will miss the malls I frequent on weekends, and I will definitely miss the restaurants and coffee shops I usually go to.

But certain things need to be sacrificed. A decision had to be made. And it’s all been done. Next month I will be adjusting to a new life in a new city. I’m crossing my fingers that all will turn out well.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

