Last One Standing

January 11, 2015 at 1:25 AM | Posted in Musings | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

Just after the New Year, I attended an old friend’s wedding when I was in Bicol for the holidays. She’s one of my friends in college and our barkada were all invited to the wedding. The five of us were pretty close back when we were in college. And almost all of us were present at each other’s wedding. Now that my friend was the fourth one in the group to get married, I am the only one still unattached. Yup, I’m the last one standing.

Bridget_Jones's_Diary_smugmarrieds

So of course being the only remaining single in the group, I got a lot of teasings and proddings from them. They kept insisting that I should get married soon. They practically gave me a deadline. They said that I should get married by June this year. One of them is giving birth early this year so they said it would be perfect if I can get married after her baby comes.

I love my friends, but it can be exasperating sometimes when they and other people pressure me to get married. They have a traditional view on marriage and family. But I am not traditional. I am unconventional. I’m not like most women. Being a product of a broken family, I don’t view marriage in rose-colored glasses. If divorce is legal in the Philippines, my parents would have been divorced a long time ago. So yes, I’m not in a hurry to get married.

Bridget Jones's Diary quote

Photo courtesy of memespp.com

Actually I have mixed feelings about marriage. On one hand, I’m not sure if I’m the marrying kind. I can’t even imagine myself in a wedding dress, much less walk down the aisle. But on the other hand, it would be nice to have a long-term companion.

I’ve always been liberated for most of my life and I value my independence greatly. Now unless there’s a guy out there who can sweep me off my feet and completely change my mind, I still remain happily unattached.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

