2014: The Year That Was

January 2, 2015 at 4:26 PM | Posted in Musings | Leave a comment

As I move forward this 2015 with hope and determination, I’d like to take a few moments to look back and review the past year. Last year definitely had its ups and downs for me. But there were also a few notable experiences that made 2014 a memorable one for me. Here are just a few highlights from 2014:

  1. I decided to step out of my comfort zone. I made a major life-changing decision that was both risky and challenging and involved a lot of patience. Right now I’m still pushing through with this decision in the hopes that it will help me grow as a person.
  2. I embarked on a project that would further test my capabilities as an independent person. This project has been in the pipeline since 2013 and it was only late last year that I finally took the plunge.
  3. I reconnected with family I hadn’t seen in a long time. My uncle who’s an OFW came home from abroad last year and I was able to spend some time with him and the rest of my family during his short stay in Manila.
  4. I had the opportunity to travel someplace I’ve never been. I went to Cagayan de Oro and stayed there for over a week. Aside from spending unforgettable days there, my stay in CDO also helped me see the region in a new light.
  5. I had a brush with a Hollywood celebrity. Considering that a lot of Hollywood celebrities already visited the Philippines, I’ve never been the one who would go out of the way to see or meet them, much less stalk them. But that changed when the star of one of my favorite shows on TV visited the country. I’m a big fan of Suits and Gabriel Macht so of course I went kinda crazy when he came here to do charity work. I actually saw him in person during his stay and I will never forget the big smile on his face when me, my sister and a couple of friends were practically screaming and hyperventilating at the sight of him.

There were a few more incidents that happened in 2014 that I consider to be turning points in my life but I won’t elaborate on them as they’re very private and not for public consumption. Let’s just say that they were life lessons for me that I need to reflect on.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

