Tip of the Iceberg

April 28, 2014 at 11:32 PM | Posted in Musings, Psychology | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

Three recent incidents forced me to revisit once again the common misperception that other people have about me. For starters, a new friend of mine confessed that when she first met me, she thought that I was this quiet and demure type of person. Then there was this guy who, when I happened to mention that I listen to hip-hop music, told me that I don’t look like the type who would listen to hip-hop music. I almost laughed at that but I think I raised my eyebrows instead. Recently, another woman told me practically the same thing as my new friend.

If looks are the only basis for judging a person, then I guess I’d fail miserably. I get that other people have this common misperception of me. I wear glasses and dress a bit like Rory Gilmore with an odd mixture of Daria and Blair Waldorf – if you get the drift. I am also an introvert who cherishes solitude and likes to brood once in a while (It’s why I became a writer, duh.). Personality-wise, I have similarities with Temperance Brennan. But my close friends know that I’m so much more than meets the eye. Like what I’ve said before, what you see isn’t necessarily what you get.

For instance, people would always get surprised whenever they found out that I have a tattoo (not a tiny one, mind you) and have a wild side. Like it’s a big deal. I have varying taste in music as well. I listen to rock, hip-hop, rap metal, techno/club, pop, R & B, and more. I can be a mean girl once in a while, too.

Some people like to view the world and other people in black and white. I don’t. I’m not necessarily white, but I’m not black either. I am a palette with varying shades.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

