Mementoes

March 20, 2014 at 10:00 AM | Posted in Musings, Writing | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

With all the modern technology available these days when it comes to communication, writing letters has become a lost art. I’m not talking about email, but rather the traditional form of writing correspondence. And as much as I love receiving text messages, email or instant message from friends, there are times when I get nostalgic about the days when receiving mail from the post brought excitement and curiosity for me.

Back when I was in high school and college, I used to send letters and postcards to my friends. Cellphones weren’t ubiquitous in those days and the Internet at that time was just in its early stage (Gosh, now I suddenly feel old!). I remember purchasing stationeries, greeting cards and color pens specific for each person I’m writing to. And even though my handwriting didn’t (and still doesn’t) look good, I enjoyed putting my thoughts into paper.

letters & mementoes

I’m the type who cherish little things from friends so I kept every letter, postcard and note I received from them. When I was in college, my friends at the university and I used to doodle and pass notes to each other during boring classes. I still have them with me as mementoes of the good old days.

These days, it’s a rarity to send and receive letters via snail mail. On one hand, I don’t mind sending or receiving one from the post because I think it’s much more personalized and intimate. But on the other hand, I like faster communications so electronic is the way to go. I’m also trying to go paperless as much as possible and reduce my carbon footprint, so online communication is now my chosen form of correspondence aside from SMS and phone calls.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

