Of Fan Fiction and Fangirling

February 27, 2014 at 12:46 AM | Posted in Writing | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Every person who is part of a fandom only knows too well about fan fiction. In fact, most fangirl and fanboy I know have read fan fiction at some point, even if they’re not voracious readers of the genre. I must admit, even though I belong to several fandoms and spend most of my time fangirling on them, I never tried writing fan fiction. As a writer, this should have come naturally to me, right? Not really.

Honestly speaking, I don’t feel comfortable writing about characters that are not originally conceived by me. Somehow, I feel like I’m committing a blasphemy (for want of a better word) if I dare to write stories about the characters I love. It’s also sort of like giving respect to the writer who originally created the characters. Don’t get me wrong. I admire fan fiction writers. In fact, I have a few friends who write fan fiction. I think most writers of the genre have the natural talent in spinning interesting stories about much-loved characters from TV, movies or books. And I think it’s a true testament of their dedication and love for the fandom they belong to.

Fanfiction-Writer-What-my-friends-think-I-do

But for me, I really can’t bring myself to do the same. I prefer writing about characters that I myself created. Well I guess that’s just me. When it comes to writing fan fiction and fangirling, I mostly veer towards the latter. When I fangirl, I tend to express it through other means – either by blogging or gushing about it nonstop on social media. But who knows, maybe eventually I’ll try writing fan fiction just for the experience.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] that time when I blogged and said I don’t write fanfiction? Yeah well, I just broke my own rule. I wrote my very first fanfiction last year after getting […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

