Opposites

February 1, 2014 at 11:33 PM | Posted in Books | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

I recently bought two books as a birthday treat for myself. I didn’t splurge on my birthday because I thought there’s no need to. I just wanted something simple for myself, nothing fancy. And since there’s a couple of books I’ve been wanting to read, I thought that would be the perfect gift for me.

These are actually two contrasting books because the first one is a classic while the other one is science fiction. I love the classics but I like sci-fi, too.

TheGift & Robopocalypse

I bought Daniel H. Wilson’s Robopocalypse because I was intrigued by the storyline of robots with artificial intelligence raging a war against humans. Yes, I know this sounds like I, Robot or The Terminator but it’s exactly the reason why I got interested in the book. I’m always fascinated with robots and futuristic scenarios since I was a child. I saw the first Terminator movie while I was a kid and loved it. Since then I’ve been a fan of its franchise, including the now-defunct but worth watching Sarah Connor Chronicles. I just started reading the book and so far, it’s good.

I’ve also been wanting to read a Nabokov ever since I can remember but somehow I haven’t got the chance. I got distracted by other books and had to put it aside. But lately I felt nostalgic about reading the classics so I bought myself The Gift (no pun intended). A Vladimir Nabokov novel is just something that I have got to have, and it’s been in my list of books to read.

Most people I know are now in the habit of reading e-books. I’ve read a few e-books myself but for me, there’s no substitute for the real thing. I’m old-fashioned that way. I don’t mind reading newspapers and magazines online but when it comes to books, I still prefer to read them in print. There’s nothing like the feel and smell of a real book. You can have your Kindles and Nooks but I still prefer a shelf filled with my favorite books.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

