Holiday Binges

January 5, 2014 at 11:15 PM | Posted in TV | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

I had the opportunity to take a long Christmas break last December. And aside from visiting relatives and bingeing on food, I spent the holiday season binge- watching TV shows that I wasn’t able to watch for a long time. The holiday break was a chance for me to catch up on episodes of some of my favorite TV shows. Thus, I scheduled three shows to binge-watch:

1. Bones (season 8) – This has been a long time coming. I know I still have a lot to catch up on. I haven’t seen the first half of season 9 yet, especially that most-talked about wedding episode. I’ve been avoiding reading spoilers so hopefully I can catch up soon. Honestly, my interest in Bones has waned a little bit. The quality of the show has been receding and I think they jumped the shark when they did that Jersey Shore-like episode. But no matter, I’ll still watch season 9 for what it’s worth.

Bones_s8_episode17

photo courtesy of tvequals.com

2. Nikita (season 3 & 4) – Another favorite show of mine that unfortunately got axed too soon. While the third season wasn’t as fantastic and gripping as season 1 and 2, I enjoyed it immensely all the same. It’s just sad that the fourth season was the show’s last. This was the only good show worth watching on The CW. But at least the fans were justified with the fourth and last season. I got full closure after watching the action-packed season 4. I was at the edge of my seat the whole time and at least there was a happy ending, and for me that’s good enough.

Nikita-season-4-episode-4-stills

photo courtesy of hypable.com

3. The Fall (season 1) – Finally, I was able to watch this critically-acclaimed British show. The show stars Gillian Anderson as Detective Superintendent Stella Gibson, who was called to Belfast to solve a murder case that turned out to be linked to other violent murders by a disturbed serial killer. Of course, being a fan of Gillian Anderson, I just had to see this show. The serial killer is portrayed by Jamie Dornan, who I was familiar with as the sheriff in Once Upon a Time. Watching him, I think I understand why he was chosen to play Christian Grey in the film adaptation of the Fifty Shades of Grey book series. Gillian’s performance on the other hand, was perfect as always.

Of course, Christmas wouldn’t be complete without me watching the Downton Abbey season 4 Christmas special. Thank God there was no death on the show that I had to deal with compared to the third season where Matthew met his untimely demise. Downton Abbey is one of my new favorite shows these days along with Suits. I also have a lineup of new shows I’ve been meaning to watch. If schedule permits, I’ll be watching them anytime soon.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

