Going Offline

March 12, 2013 at 4:30 PM | Posted in Lifestyle, Technology | Leave a comment
Tags:

I admit I’m not the type who is addicted to the Internet. Unlike some people I know, I don’t go online 24/7. Even with the proliferation of social media, I can still live without it. There are other ways of communicating and getting in touch with your friends and loved ones. You don’t have to go online to talk with them. In fact, I would rather have a cup of coffee with friends and chat with them in person than talk with them in a virtual world.

unplugging from internet

One of the things I noticed in people who are always online is that they tend to prefer communicating in a virtual world rather in person. I’ve met people who are so addicted to social media that when they are around people, the first thing they do is to check-in at Foursquare, Facebook, and Twitter. You can barely have a discussion with them because most of the time, all they do is check their friends’ updates on Facebook with their smartphones. And I just find it ridiculous that they make it a big deal when they are ousted from mayorship on Foursquare.

I am thankful that most of my friends are not like that. When I meet with my friends, we usually have lively discussions on just about anything. We fill each other in with what’s going on with our lives. We focus on the people around us, not on our smartphones or tablets. I know there are lots of advantages of being online. But when it comes to interaction, I prefer doing it offline.

 
[Photo credit: photosteve101 on Flickr]

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

