Fifty Shades of Disappointment

August 21, 2012 at 9:44 PM | Posted in Book Reviews, Books | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I never intended to read the Fifty Shades trilogy books even though I’ve heard so much about it. But a friend of mine offered to send me the electronic versions of it so I thought why not? There has been so much talk about these books that I might as well try reading them and see what’s all the fuss about.

Disappointment quickly came to me after reading a few chapters of Fifty Shades of Grey. Reading it felt like I was back in high school again, flipping through the pages of a Mills and Boon book. The style of writing and the basic plot is so Mills and Boon: a blushing female virgin captivated by a young male billionaire. How cliche can you get.

Image courtesy of vanityfair.com

I know I shouldn’t have expected much from an erotic novel but since this book became a bestseller I was expecting more substance. On the contrary.

I kept rolling my eyes while reading through them – the gullibility of the female character, Anastasia Steele and her swooning over Christian Grey, the young billionaire. I almost laughed out loud when I got to the part where Christian showed the Red Room of Pain to Anastasia. It wasn’t erotic at all. But perhaps that’s mainly because I don’t like S & M. I never understand why some people are into it.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not a prude. I don’t mind reading erotica as long as it’s well-written. But this book just isn’t. And I just don’t see the romance in it – not when there’s a non-disclosure agreement involved. But the book is probably romantic for people who want to be whipped, flogged, or caned.

To be fair, I didn’t get to finish the book because I was just bored with it. After Chapter 16, I decided I’m done with the book. It didn’t help that according to reports, the author E.L. James, got her inspiration from the vomit-inducing Twilight series.

Fifty Shades of Grey is just an adult version of Mills and Boon with lots of kinky sex in it, nothing more. I would probably finish this book just to give it a fair review. But I can tell that my complete review wouldn’t be that much different.

In the meantime, where is that Dan Brown novel I’ve been meaning to read…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

