Unintentionally Funny

May 29, 2012 at 2:00 PM | Posted in Musings | Leave a comment

Honestly speaking I don’t consider myself as a funny person. And though I occasionally make jokes when around friends, most people generally see me as the no-nonsense type. Don’t get me wrong. I like laughing at jokes. I love watching comedy. I used to watch Friends a lot when it used to be on TV. And I love The Big Bang Theory. I just don’t get it sometimes when people think I’m being funny which in truth I am not.

Like there was this time when I was about to start my presentation at work. It was reporting time and the whole team was gathered inside the meeting room. I said something that made the entire team laughed. Even my boss was laughing. And I wasn’t being funny. But it was all good. I know they weren’t laughing at me. Since then there were other incidents and I was known at work as someone who can make unintentionally funny comments. One colleague even planned to make a Facebook fan page about me and my “Weena-isms.” But that never materialized.

There was also this time when my friends at another company where I used to work was gathered around a table during lunch. I was just commenting on something that one of my friends said. I didn’t think it was funny but they thought it was because they all burst out laughing.

My friends can attest to the fact that there are things I say that sound funny. I guess it’s the way I deliver the message. I’m like Temperance Brennan from Bones. I can be tactless and abrasive and funny at the same time without really meaning to. A college buddy of mine even said once that I tend to say something whatever comes to my mind without much thought. There’s truth in that I know. But I’ve been curbing it as much as I can.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

