This too, shall pass.

May 4, 2012 at 10:34 PM | Posted in Musings | Leave a comment

Throughout the years, this has been my motto every time I encounter difficulties in life. I cannot count how many times I have uttered this line whenever I’m going through tough times. This line has been my sort of self-encouragement to go on, face my problems and be brave. By uttering this line, I assure myself that everything will turn out fine in the end.

And it’s true. I believe that every dark cloud has a silver lining. And I can attest to this by the numerous times I have overcome difficulties in life. When I look back, those dark periods of my life were over and somehow I managed to overcome them.

I think I started using this motto after I’ve seen My Best Friend’s Wedding, in which there was a scene where Julia Roberts’ character was sitting on the carpet just outside the door of her hotel room. She sat there smoking, finally realizing the devious thing she did to her male best friend who was about to get the consequences of her action. A hotel bellboy passed by and reminded her that smoking was not allowed in the hallway. I don’t recall every detail of that scene. All I can remember is that after the bellboy noticed her grim, sad face the bellboy told her, “This too, shall pass,” alluding to the idea that she’d get through whatever trial had come her way.

Now I am facing another dark cloud and once again I repeat this familiar line to myself.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

