Birthday Weekend Getaway

January 23, 2012 at 8:37 PM | Posted in Lifestyle, Travel, Writing | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I just came back from San Juan, Batangas where I spent my birthday frolicking at the beach and relaxing at the resort. It was sort of an adventure trip actually. I traveled alone with no companion at all. It was my first time as a solo traveler and I must say that I enjoyed it very much. This was what I’ve always wanted – some time alone by myself.

This idea came about last year when I decided to do something out of the ordinary for my birthday this 2012. I said to myself that I’m going to treat myself this year and go out of town. And after a stressful month at work, I booked myself a resort room in Balai sa San Juan just in time for the long weekend holiday.

So last Friday, I found myself traveling to an unfamiliar place excited about spending time at the beach. The resort had this rustic feel to it and I loved that it was situated in a secluded area. My room had no phone, TV, and minibar at all. There was no WiFi either. And I was glad because I didn’t want any modern distraction. Part of the reason why I wanted to go solo was because I wanted to go back to writing. It’s been a long time since I drafted a short story, and the beach was the perfect place for me to write.

I spent my first day at the resort exploring and just walking along the beach taking in the fresh sea breeze and watching the calming waves. I intended to watch the sunset at the beach but unfortunately, the skies were cloudy that time and the sun remained hidden behind those clouds. I reserved the night just typing away at my laptop with a new story in mind.

The morning after was my birthday and I spent the whole day at the beach. It was a good thing that it was off season because there was hardly anyone at the beach. After enjoying a good few hours of swimming, I settled in one of the cottages along the shore and past the time alternately reading a book and writing. I stayed there until dusk but unfortunately no sign of the sunset again because the sky remained cloudy.

I checked out the next day but not before I had my last walk along the beach. It’s such a shame that my vacation ended so soon. I honestly was not ready to leave. In fact, when I came back to Manila I felt disappointed after I had my first glimpse of the skycrapers. The mountains, trees and lush greeneries of Batangas were gone and instead there were concrete and steel everywhere. I’ll take the beach any day if you ask me.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hi weena. happy happy birthday! that is such a cool way to spend one’s bday. glad that you had fun.

    • Thanks, Mela! =D

  2. Happy birthday, Weena. I’m jealous of that frolic on the beach as over here, it’s still pretty cold for that kind of fun 😉

    • Thanks, Malou. I’m sure you will be able to enjoy the beach over there come summer time. Spring must also be lovely there. =)

  3. Di ko maalala kung kelan ang birthday mo, but hey belated happy birthday and I’m so glad that you enjoyed your solo travel to San Juan, Batangas (love that place… one day! one day!)

    btw, I’m back on wordpress.com. I had some new entries. See you soon! Ciao!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

