Femme Fatale

September 14, 2011 at 11:03 PM | Posted in TV | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

I hate it whenever my new favorite TV shows get cancelled so early on. Either the network cancels it after the first season or the second. And this is usually the period when I get hooked on a show. But I am happy to know that my new favorite show, Nikita, got renewed for a second season.

I must admit that I caught on this show very late already. The first season of Nikita ended last May (I think) in the US and I wasn’t able to watch it because it wasn’t aired locally yet. Thank goodness ETC started airing it last month so I was able to watch the first season. And I instantly loved it! Maggie Q is perfect as Nikita because she can definitely kick ass! Her portrayal of the character is tough and sexy but still has that vulnerability underneath.

I’ve seen the original French film from which the TV show is based and even watched the Hollywood remake (which starred Bridget Fonda) years ago. But I must say that when it comes to the film, I enjoyed the Hollywood remake better than the original. I know. Those Nikita “purists” can shoot me now but I will stand my ground. There was just too much vulnerability in Anne Parillaud’s (the actress who played the character in the original film) portrayal of the character. It was almost child-like and I didn’t like that. I like my Nikita strong and can hold on her own, and that’s what I saw in the US version.

As for the TV series, this 2010 remake is better than La Femme Nikita in my opinion. I also used to watch LFN back in the 90’s and I really disliked the actors portraying Nikita and Michael. I only stuck with the show because of the stories, which declined in quality as the seasons passed. I didn’t even bother finishing it through its final season.

the original Nikita French film

In this 2010 remake, there is a mixture of elements from the original film and the 90’s TV series. Some elements from the original film can be seen (the look of each recruit’s bedroom, the use of the name Josephine as pseudonym, etc.) while names of the main characters in the remake are the same as the ones in La Femme Nikita. But this new take on the classic film entirely differs. Whereas the Nikita in the original film was a new recruit and LFN‘s version was already an old recruit and deeply involved with the black ops group’s missions, this 2010 remake’s Nikita is already a veteran and hardened assassin who escaped from the shadowy group that trained her. She has gone rogue and gotten an accomplice to infiltrate the syndicate.

This is a very interesting new angle that the writers of the show have created. It gives a fresh take on the old story with new plot twists that I find addicting. Now I just can’t wait to see the second season.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] I first heard about the movie, Lucy after it became a hit in the US. I had no idea what the movie was about. All I knew that it was directed by Luc Besson – the same director and writer of highly acclaimed movies I’ve seen like Leon: The Professional and Nikita, which by the way, is one of my favorite characters in pop culture. […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

