High School Reunions are So Cliche

August 28, 2011 at 10:46 PM | Posted in Musings | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

When my sister informed me that our batchmates in high school (yes, my sister and I went to the same school) are planning to have a reunion this December, I just shrugged it off. Apparently there is an ongoing discussion on Facebook about the reunion, which I am not a part of because I don’t have an account on that uber-hyped social network. This reunion would supposedly be the biggest gathering of our class ever excluding the mini-reunions we had years ago.

Well I am not interested to go to our high school reunion at all. For me, high school reunions are just an opportunity for some people to brag. Half the time, people are not there to reconnect and catch up on each other’s lives. They just want to show off how successful they have become.

When I was in high school, I never liked most of the crowd in my class. They were crude, crass, and what you would call “jologs” in those days. I was what you would consider as an outsider – the angsty girl who was always at odds with everyone in the class (yes even I was a cliche). In fact if you ask me, I had a better time in college and grade school than when I was in high school. For me, going to that reunion would just be a waste of time. High school was a past that I would rather not revisit. Except for a very few people, meeting my old classmates again just doesn’t thrill me.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

