Going Beyond 60 Minutes

March 28, 2011 at 12:16 PM | Posted in Current Events, Environment | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

On Saturday, March 26 at exactly 8:30 PM the lights went out in the Ayala Triangle Gardens simultaneously with the rest of the cities around the world for Earth Hour 2011. I went to the park that evening at around 8:15 to go running. I was not expecting the park management to participate in Earth Hour since to my knowledge there weren’t any announcements made but I’m glad they did. I was also delighted to learn that there was a cultural show at the park that night to celebrate the event. So since the park was enveloped in darkness and I could not go running in the dark, I decided to watch the show instead (Thank goodness I had my camera phone with me!). Meanwhile my sister who was in our apartment that time switched off the lights and unplugged all electrical appliances when the clock ticked 8:30. I came back from the park at around 10:00 and found that our room was still bathed in candlelight. We decided to turn the lights back on at 10:30.

Photo taken after the clock struck 9:30

I’m just glad that we participated in this worldwide event. I feel I contributed something for the cause even though it was just a small thing. I know little could mean a lot. In the previous years, the Philippines actually saved a lot of energy just by switching off the lights for one hour. According to the World Wildlife Fund Philippines, the country saved 611MWh of electricity last 2009. Imagine that.

Inching my way through the crowd (I holding the camera)

And there goes my message at the bottom of the board

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

