My New Sony Ericsson Phone: A Review

June 30, 2010 at 8:10 AM | Posted in Shopping | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Just recently bought a new cell phone to replace my old, faulty phone. Being a Nokia user for about five years, I felt that it’s time to try a new brand. I’ve been eyeing Sony Ericsson for quite some time now due to its durability and high-res phone cameras. I was never interested in touchscreen phones and preferred the classic keypad-based cell phones. So that’s why I bought the Sony Ericsson Elm.

I’m more into the functionality of the phone not on aesthetics and Sony Ericsson Elm’s features perfectly match with my lifestyle. The Elm is lightweight, slim, and has an easy-to-use keypad. It has Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, an FM radio, a 5 megapixel camera, 3G connection, and media player. What also attracted me to this phone is its Noise Shield and environment-friendly features. The Noise Shield lessens the background noise during a call. The phone is also made of recyclable materials and has additional “green” features like the Green Calculator. The Green Calculator allows the user to calculate the carbon emissions one causes based on his or her lifestyle. The phone also comes with a power-saving battery charger.

There is also the Grocery List application where the user can choose from the prelisted items that one needs to buy when he or she goes grocery shopping. This eliminates the use of paper when grocery shopping. The list is very limited though as it only lists down food items, excluding others like toiletries.

Accessories that come with the phone – apart from the battery and its charger – include earphones with a propriety jack and a short USB cable. The quality and usability of the earphones though is not that good. I don’t mind the earphones’ propriety jack as my Nokia N73 features the same thing. What I dislike is the sound quality and the lack of function buttons. When I listen to the FM radio through the phone, I have to manually turn up/down the volume or switch stations. So when I’m outside on the streets I still have to dig through my bag to get the phone, turn up the volume or change the radio station, which is really a hassle.

On the other hand, the picture quality of the camera phone is very satisfactory. I took a few pictures and they turn out pretty well.There is also the Walk Mate Eco application, which counts my steps when I walk and calculates how much carbon dioxide I saved through it. This I find pretty neat.

Popular social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter, and You Tube are also pre-installed into the phone so they come in handy, especially to those social networking addicts (not me, though). Web browsing through other sites are limited though. But this is fine by me since I rarely go online through a phone anyway – except to check emails. The texting and calling functionality is what really matters to me. Another minor inconvenience of the Elm is the lack of a memory card. I have to buy a separate memory card to store large files. But the 280MB internal memory is good enough for me – for now.

Overall, I’m very satisfied with my new cell phone. It may have a few inconveniences but generally it’s all good. The Sony Ericsson Elm has all the features I need and want at a very affordable price.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

