We Still Want to Believe

July 27, 2009 at 11:20 PM | Posted in Fandom, Movies, TV | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

The Pinoy X-Philes’ celebration of the first year anniversary of The X-Files: I Want to Believe movie release happened last Saturday, July 25. As all the X-philes all over the world knows, July 25, 2008 was the date of the US theatrical release of the movie. My group and I decided to celebrate it by holding a simple dinner at one of our fellow member’s residence. And to make the celebration more meaningful, we held a private screening of I Want to Believe. My fellow X-philes and I have already seen the movie five or more times but we didn’t mind watching it again.

Our IWTB-XF stuff

IWTB Anniv cakeIt was agreed upon that we would have a pot luck dinner, with each attending member bringing his or her own prepared food. But since some of us would be traveling far or couldn’t cook a decent meal (including me, hehe), we ended up just buying takeout food and bringing them to Sam’s (the host) house.

The private screening was supposed to start at 6:00 PM but since the five of us (Lily, Christie, Vel, Enna, and me) arrived late and we still had to arrange the food and wait for the other guests, the film showing didn’t start until past 8:00 PM. By then, we just dined while watching the movie. We used the projector and white screen again for the film showing. Three of us brought each of her own DVD copy of the movie as well as other I Want to Believe-related stuff. Too bad two of our long-time members couldn’t join us that night because of professional and personal reasons.

As always, my fellow X-philes and I enjoyed the evening immensely. We wanted to watch even the bloopers/gag reel of I Want to Believe, but there was not enough time. It was decided by the group beforehand that we would also watch an episode of Kolchak: The Nightstalker – the inspiration behind the creation of The X-Files – as most of us hadn’t seen the classic 70’s series. So that’s what we did after we’re done watching the second X-Files film.

IWTB private DVD screening

I Want to Believe private screening

We originally intended to leave Sam’s house before midnight but it was already past 12:00 AM when we’re through watching the pilot episode of Kolchak. And since Vel, Lily, and Christie didn’t want to go home in that ungodly hour due to safety reasons, they opted to stay at Sam’s overnight. I didn’t want to go home alone in that hour either so I decided to join them. We slept on the four couches in the screening room and left the house at around 8:00 AM the next morning. I wasn’t able to sleep properly at Sam’s so I was still feeling sleepy and groggy when I got home. But the experience was all worth it.  Like what Scully said in the “Bad Blood” episode, “I do it all for you, Mulder. I do it all for you!”

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

