A Thing of Beauty

July 2, 2009 at 8:49 AM | Posted in Beauty, Photography, Writing | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

As the old saying goes, “Beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder.” What may be ugly or uninteresting to others can be beautiful to me and vice versa. I have a different view when it comes to how I see the world. As an artist (Yes, a writer can be called an artist. I have encountered a few people who seem to relegate artists only to those who design, paint, or take photos. Well duh.), I take pleasure in observing things around me. I may not be much of a talker but I observe.

I delight in the simple things in nature. I can get awestruck just by looking at the sea, a blossoming flower, or even a morning dew. To me, that is beauty. I’m an audience not an actor. I’m creative not technical. I’m emotional not mental. I can get inspired by just the littlest of things or ordinary events happening around me. Beauty is symmetry. Symmetry is beauty. Beauty is in a perfectly-shaped seashell. Beauty is watching a dog make fine pawprints on the sand. It is personal and subjective. Some people don’t understand why I delight in taking pictures of a footprint, a tree, or any random thing I find beautiful. These people don’t seem to appreciate nature or the things around them. They grew up seeing things as they are and taking them for granted. They are analytical. They don’t get passionate about the simple things.

Given the opportunity, I would like to try photography sometime. My main medium of communication is a pen and paper — or in this case, a computer. I think it would be neat to take up photography as a hobby. I might be using another medium (i.e., a camera) but the message would be the same — that is to communicate.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Go for it! photography is a great way to express what’s on your mind.

  2. IT’s a great form of art! You can start with nikon d40x or canon 450d then enroll in a digital photography workshop. I know of a workshop in UP.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

