Barefoot Cinderella

May 29, 2008 at 6:09 PM | Posted in Beauty, Lifestyle, Musings | 2 Comments

I recently came across this great article by Walter Kirn (author of Thumbsucker) on Elle.com (Isn’t it ironic that this article appeared on Elle – a fashion and beauty magazine?). In his article, Kirn basically debunks the popular myth on beautiful women — that just because they’re beautiful don’t necessarily mean they are sexy. He goes on to say that imperfections in a woman are what makes her attractive and sexy to him, not the fully made-up face of a woman or the more-than-three-inches-heels shoes that most beautiful women wear. These “plain” women, whom he likes to call barefoot Cinderellas (Cinderella before the makeover), don’t usually care much about how they look or how much they eat. They are happy just being themselves.

I myself have been struggling with the pressure to look good — wearing the “right” clothes, the must-have trendy shoes (the higher the heel, the better), and eating as little as possible to stay slim. But no matter how much I try to be in fashion or eat less, I usually still end up wearing my comfy jeans and flip-flops and eating that fattening pasta. I guess I can safely say that I’m one of those barefoot Cinderellas. I’m a simple woman who is more comfortable wearing jeans and a baby tee than a skirt or a dress. Though I wear high-heeled shoes sometimes (but less than three inches) I still prefer flip-flops. And believe me, I have physical flaws that greedy plastic surgeons would eagerly want to fix.

It is just refreshing to know that there are still men out there who are not too caught up with the media’s typical definition of beauty. But of course, this doesn’t also mean that all plain women have winning personalities and all beautiful women have unattractive personalities. I think great personality still matters largely on what makes a person attractive.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So I read this article to and thought it was refreshing. It made me think of all the things I like about myself and why others should like those things too. However, I was wondering if the article is so supposed to make us “barefoot cinderellas” feel better in a world full of step sisters. Is this empowerment or a put down? Like calling fat, “big boned”. Hmm we’ll see. In the meantime I’ll keep my pasta eating days up in exchange for decreasing the plehora of desert choices. In the end love yourself and you’ll find someone else to love you as well. Hate yourself and you’ll find someone to do that too.

  2. Well I don’t think it’s a put down. But you’re right; loving yourself and being happy with the way you are is the one thing that really matters – not the opinion of others.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

