Losing that Lovin’ Feeling

April 17, 2008 at 6:32 PM | Posted in Writing | Leave a comment

I just watched Finding Forrester again last night on HBO. The film is about a sixteen-year-old upcoming writer who met and was taught by an award-winning but reclusive writer. I loved this movie because of the valuable lessons I learned about writing. And being a writer myself, that movie really got me thinking.

For more than a year now, I have been neglecting my plans to finish the book I’m writing. Well it’s not actually a book; it’s more like a short story that has developed into a novella over time. My original intention of writing a short story slowly faded as I kept revising several paragraphs. That led me to break the story into several chapters. And before I knew it, the story became longer and longer. I’m currently stuck writing the sixth chapter.

When I watched that film again last night, especially the scene where Sean Connery’s character was giving the teenaged boy bits of wisdom about writing, I wondered about my passion for writing fiction. Lately I’ve been noticing that I’m losing the drive to finish my story. There are times when I feel like changing the plot of the story and start again from scratch. Also, I haven’t been writing the usual stuff I love writing about lately. And I couldn’t help but notice that I’m veering away from the career path I want to take.

Watching the film last night kind of gave me a jolt to focus on my creative writing skills. I have to do something about this. I have to look for ways to get closer to my dream — to my real career path. I don’t want to completely lose my passion for creative writing.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

