XOXO, Gossip Girl

February 13, 2008 at 11:48 AM | Posted in Books, TV | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

The local airing of Gossip Girl finally premiered last night on ETC channel. I must admit I was curious about this show so I tuned in last night to see if it’s any good. I’ve never ready any book of the Gossip Girl series so I had no idea how the story goes. But according to the fans of the book series, the TV version of Gossip Girl still has the same characters but the stories have changed — to what extent I really don’t know.

 

gossipgirl_cast.jpg

 

Photo courtesy of television.aol.com

Anyway, I found the show entertaining. It reminded me a bit of Sex and the City (the book not the TV show) as it has a narrator who gives the low-down on the latest juicy gossip about the well-known characters (in the case of Gossip Girl, the narrator is an anonymous blogger who dishes out rumors about the prominent students of an exclusive prep school on her blog aptly named Gossip Girl).

The show’s two lead stars, Blake Lively and Leighton Meester, fit the the roles perfectly — with Blake playing the “it” girl Serena and Leighton as her best friend (more like frenemy) Blair. I love the classic, elegant beauty of Leighton. I like watching her face, especially the way she talks. Blake, though beautiful, looks like the typical blonde.

Gossip Girl is a promising new show and from the looks of it, I predict it will stay longer on air than the short-lived The OC.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

