Rivermaya Gets a New Frontman

October 30, 2007 at 10:38 AM | Posted in Music | Leave a comment

I watched the finals of Rivermaya Bagong Liwanag last Sunday, October 28 on Studio 23 and saw the three judges — along with the band members picked Jayson Fernandez as the new frontman of Rivermaya. Though I’m not exactly sure if Jayson can successfully bring the band into a new level, I’m pleased that the judges chose him over the other finalist, Hans who I think did not fit the image of the band. Aside from the fact that Hans looked like a member of a boy band, he was also having a hard time hitting some of the notes and frequently catching his breath. Jayson had steadier vocals and brought a lot of energy while performing.

Watching the finals and seeing the other OPM bands perform some of the best songs of Rivermaya made me think how great this Pinoy band is. I’ve been a fan of Rivermaya since its Bamboo days. For me, their music speaks a lot about Filipino rock. The lyrics of their songs are not just about love or — as some people who hate rock would say “nonsensical,” but also speak of life, society, and values.

Honestly speaking, I loved Rivermaya better when Bamboo was still the lead vocalist. I loved the way Bamboo performed on stage and how he delivered the songs. In fact, most of the Rivermaya songs I love were the ones sung by Bamboo such as “Kisapmata,” “Awit ng Kabataan,” “Himala,” “214,” “Kung Ayaw Mo, Huwag Mo,” and many others. The Rivermaya sound during Bamboo’s time was more angst-ridden and distinctively rock than Rico Blanco’s time. When Bamboo left the band and Rico Blanco became the lead vocalist, the sound became different. In fact for me, it became pop-ish. Though I also liked Rico Blanco, in my opinion, Bamboo was still the best.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

