What’s in a Name?

October 2, 2007 at 4:03 PM | Posted in Musings | Leave a comment
Tags:

“What’s in a name that which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet?” so Juliet says in Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. In my case, names certainly matter. For me, a name is more than just that. It is who you are and what you aspire to be. A name should go well with an individual’s personality. It is you who makes the name, not the other way around.

I have this long-standing pet peeve about my name. It irks me every time people call me by my full name. Honestly speaking, I dislike my full name because it doesn’t reflect my true personality. In fact, I inwardly cringe whenever someone calls me by my full name. I prefer to be called by my nickname. I’m more comfortable with that. I believe my nickname closely
speaks about myself. It has more character and oomph than my full name. I only use my full name when signing on formal documents such as bank accounts and contracts.

Other people I know who also dislike their names have gotten imaginative when it comes to changing their names. Most of them preferred to be called by nicknames that they themselves thought of. I mean, their new names aren’t even the nicknames that their families call them. Talk about being creative…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

