Cooking versus Baking

August 30, 2007 at 10:43 AM | Posted in Musings, TV | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I was channel surfing early last night when I chanced upon a cooking show on Discovery Travel & Living. It was actually a show that I watch from time to time, and it’s called Nigella Feasts (but it used to be called Nigella Bites). Now I’m not particularly fond of watching cooking shows on TV but this show caught my interest. It always interest me to watch Nigella Lawson as she cooks, bakes, and prepares one scrumptious food after another. To be honest, I like watching her show mainly because I love hearing her English accent! There are times when I just don’t pay enough attention on how she cooks a meal. I just watch her mouth the words in her elegant, English voice. When I first saw her on TV, my first impression was “Gosh, she’s so beautiful and elegant!” From then on, I try to watch her show whenever I can. She makes cooking and baking look so easy!

I never have any interest in cooking. I’m the type who just eats the food on the table. My aunt who loves to cook once taught me how to cook various meals. But I have long since forgotten the things she taught me. Somehow, cooking just doesn’t interest me. But whenever I watch Nigella bake cakes, cookies, or pastries, I can’t help but get interested in baking. I’d like to learn how to bake. I guess this is influenced by the fact that my mother used to bake cakes and stuff. I remember when I was little, I used to help my mother in the kitchen whenever she was baking. But I never gotten any formal baking lessons. I just learned little things from that experience. I remember my mother giving me instructions when she’s baking (“pour one half of sugar into the bowl,” “stir the batter clockwise,” “mix two teaspoonfuls of vanilla into the bowl of flour,” etc.). Other than that, I don’t know anymore. But I’d like to learn how to bake someday. I think it would be fun to bake, especially when baking cakes with all that yummy icing, which are one of my favorite food.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

