A Song for Today

July 12, 2007 at 3:58 PM | Posted in Music | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

Here’s one good song that I’ve been itching to listen to these past couple of weeks. It’s by an ’80s artist named Midge Ure. The song is called “Dear God.” I had a hard time looking for this song because I wasn’t so sure of the correct title (aside from the fact that this is one of those hard-to-find songs). I used to hear this song a lot during my high school and college days, back when I used to listen to radio shows that played Hits of the ’80s. Since then, it has become one of the new wave songs that I love listening to.

I really love this song because of its beat and also because of its meaningful lyrics. The song sends a powerful message, sort of like a wakeup call to everyone about what’s happening to our world today.

Check out its lyrics:

Dear God
(by Midge Ure)

Dear God, is there somebody out there?
Is there someone to hear my prayer?
I’m a simple man with simple words to say
Is there some point in asking?
Asking for more only got us where we are today
Lost and alone and afraid

Give me, love for the lonely
Give me, food for the hungry
Give me, peace in a restless world
Give me, hope for the children
Give me, a worldwide religion
Give me, peace in a restless world

Dear God, can you hear me crying?
A whole world crying
Looking for something to say
We had it all and we threw it all away
Is there somebody watching?
Somebody watching over the mess that we’ve made
We’re lost and alone and afraid

Give me, love for the lonely
Give me, food for the hungry
Give me, peace in a restless world
Give me, hope for the children
Give me, a worldwide religion
Give me, peace in a restless world

And we need to know there’s something good
Though all our years of solitude go on and on and on…

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is really one inspiring song. It encourages the people to call on God because He is our only hope and in Him should we put our faith and trust.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

