Beautiful Betty

June 18, 2007 at 6:53 PM | Posted in TV | 3 Comments

Do looks really matter? It depends on who you ask. For Betty Suarez, physical appearance is not important; it’s what’s inside the person that really matters. This is the message that the hit TV series Ugly Betty wants to impart to the audience. True beauty lies within a person’s character – not on the way he or she looks. That is why I love this show because it gives a positive message to everyone.

Ugly Betty is about a young, smart, and confident woman named Betty who must struggle every day against what the society of today dictates: the importance of physical beauty. Dubbed by almost everyone as ugly, the eyeglass-wearing, bushy-browed, and brace-wearing Betty faces this challenge each day as she works as a personal assistant to the Editor-in-Chief of Mode magazine.


Ugly Betty

Working in a fashion magazine with good-looking coworkers makes Betty sort of an outcast. A fact that she soon learned when she starts working at Mode – what with her dowdy clothes and lack of fashion sense. However, her intelligence and confidence (which is being tested many times) have slowly earned her respect from her boss, Daniel Meade, and her two coworkers, the gay assistant Marc and catty receptionist, Amanda.

When I saw the first episode of Ugly Betty, I was hooked right away. The show is funny and has a heart. However, comparing it to the original Colombian soap opera, Betty La Fea, I must admit that it greatly differs from the original version. Having watched the original version (well most of the episodes anyway), I could say that Ugly Betty greatly veered away from the original story, especially in characterization. Most noticeable is several characters from the original are missing. Also, Betty’s group of friends were reduced to only one and a few new characters were added (e.g., Betty has a sister and a nephew). They also changed Betty’s working environment. In the original version, Betty works at a fashion design company called Eco Moda. In the Hollywood version, Betty works at a sleek, ultra-modern office of a fashion magazine. It’s like they’ve thrown in a bit of The Devil Wears Prada.


Betty La Fea

Since the sub-plot of the original was about the love story between Betty and her boss Armando, I’m now wondering if Ugly Betty will incorporate this in the show. It seems unlikely to me. I mean, there is no chemistry between Betty Suarez and Daniel Meade. And I don’t think it would appeal to the American audience. And what about Betty’s transformation from an ugly duckling into a beautiful swan? Would Salma Hayek and the other producers include this also in the show? Well I’ll just have to wait and see…

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. IMO, I believe the door is open for Betty and Daniel to get together someday. So far, the possibilities for this show seem endless, so anything seems possible for them as well. Does that mean they’ll definitely become an item? Maybe not, but I wouldn’t rule it out.

    And I disagree. I do see chemistry b/w Daniel and Betty. It’s not romantic, but there is something about their interaction that makes me want to keep watching.

  2. I see chemistry between Daniel and Betty. I know it’s not romantic chemistry, but it’s chemistry none the less. I’d like to see them get together in the very end, but I know it’s out of my hands. It’s up to the writers and producers to decide if they should be a couple or just friends. I’ll wait to see what happens and how things progress, but I hope it ends with them being together. I love this show as well.

  3. What I meant when I said there’s no chemistry between Betty and Daniel was that I don’t see any romantic chemistry between them. Sure both actors have on-screen chemistry but I’m not sure if they can pull it off if ever the producers decide to go with the romantic angle.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

