“Chop Suey” Spoof

April 30, 2007 at 4:54 PM | Posted in Music | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

For some time now, I’ve been wondering if there is actually a spoof version of System of a Down’s hit song, “Chop Suey.” I heard a funny version of it a couple of years ago (not the
Parokya ni Edgar version, mind you) when a former coworker of mine played it on his computer. The funny version I heard was a slower one – much like what you hear in lounge bars. And it’s still sang in English. The outcome was so hilarious that I couldn’t help but laugh when I heard it. I wasn’t able to ask my coworker about it and got me wondering since then. I thought that the one I heard was just “doctored” by my coworker to make it sound slower.

But lo and behold! When I searched it on Radio Blog Club, it was there! It turns out that a certain Richard Cheese was the one who sang the funny version of “Chop Suey.” He actually spoofs many popular songs and turn them into lounge versions. I never heard of him before but apparently, he’s quite popular in the US. His versions of rock songs are really funny. In fact, I love his spoofs on Linkin Park’s “One Step Closer,” Radiohead’s “Creep,” and Nirvana’s “Rape Me.” He even spoofed Madonna and Britney. They’re really hilarious when you listen to them, I tell you.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

