What You See is Not Necessarily What You Get

April 25, 2007 at 5:10 PM | Posted in Musings | 2 Comments
Tags:

Appearances can be deceiving. I am a living proof of that. Around two months ago, I was quite surprised when a coworker of mine mentioned to me that I have a wholesome image, that he never thought that I could actually have a “different” side. He said that he thought I’m the kind who is – to put it in the vernacular – “hindi makabasag ng pinggan.” Well I told him that he thought wrong. I’m not this goody-two-shoes,Pollyanna type of person who shies away from doing mischiefs and blushes every time I hear green jokes. Believe you me, I’m so far from that image. I may be shy and dresses a bit like the average girl but the real me is a fusion of wildness and naughtiness. I can be nice and sweet but I can also be bitchy and mean. Those who know me very well can attest to that.

After hearing that comment from my coworker, I’m now beginning to wonder if I should change my image. But then again, I thought I already did that when I got a tattoo three months ago. I thought having a tattoo (by the way, my tattoo is located on my lower back) would make it clear to those who would see it that I’m not as wholesome as I seem. Apparently, I was wrong. Maybe people are misled by the way I dress. Though I wear black clothes and black nail polish once in a while, most of my wardrobe consists of baby T’s and blouses in assorted colors (yes I have a couple of pink blouses), jeans, tank tops, and shorts. Maybe that’s enough for most people to conclude that I’m wholesome.

So now maybe I should wear black more often and maybe curse once in a while?

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well, people just have to be extra ‘sensitive’ in knowing someone like you πŸ˜‰

    It is your choice if you want to wear black more often just to really make a statement. πŸ˜‰ I like you as ‘who you are’ and when I take someone, especially as a friend–I take that person wholly πŸ™‚

    You rock my friend πŸ™‚

  2. […] If looks are the only basis for judging a person, then I guess I’d fail miserably. I get that other people have this common misperception of me. I wear glasses and dress a bit like Rory Gilmore with an odd mixture of Daria and Blair Waldorf – if you get the drift. I am also an introvert who cherishes solitude and likes to brood once in a while (It’s why I became a writer, duh.). Personality-wise, I have similarities with Temperance Brennan. But my close friends know that I’m so much more than meets the eye. Like what I’ve said before, what you see isn’t necessarily what you get. […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

