Of Animal Maltreatment, Cats, and “Chasing Cars”

April 13, 2007 at 7:12 PM | Posted in Animals, TV | Leave a comment

While I was watching the final episode of season two of Grey’s Anatomy last night, I couldn’t help but agree on what Meredith said in one of the scenes. It was actually a sad scene because Meredith’s dog, called Doc, was sick and according to Finn (the vet who Meredith was currently dating), there was no choice but to put him to sleep. Meredith, Derek (a.k.a McDreamy), and Addison were in Finn’s clinic and they were holding Doc while Finn injected the dog with something that would put him to sleep. Meredith asked Derek what they would do next and said something like, “We can’t just throw him away like garbage.”

I couldn’t agree more. Dogs – or any other pets for that matter – shouldn’t be treated like garbage when they die. They should be buried properly not just put them in the garbage. That scene couldn’t be more appropriate with what happened in my apartment last night.
See I have this stray cat who I’ve been looking after when it wandered into my apartment’s backyard. She got pregnant and now has two kittens. But since pets aren’t allowed in the apartment, I just kept them in the backyard, telling the caretaker/landlady that the cat just kept “visiting” the backyard because there’s a dirty kitchen there. But last night,the caretaker decided to throw away the kittens when she saw them. I was distraught. I love cats and would love to take care of the kittens but I couldn’t say that to the caretaker because that would be grounds for eviction (The apartment owner imposes strict rules on the tenants.). There was nothing I could do. I was really upset because she treated the kittens like they were just pieces of garbage. And I don’t even know where she threw them away. I tried looking for them but couldn’t find them.

Why do some people treat pets like that? Pets, particularly cats, have feelings too. They get hurt; they get sad; and they get happy too. I strongly suspect that if those were puppies, the caretaker wouldn’t throw them away. As I see it, Filipinos are more inclined to love dogs than cats. From what I hear from different people, they don’t like cats because for them cats are “greedy scavengers,” lazy,and are not “useful” around the house like dogs. That’s not true. Cats can be sweet pets too. In fact, they are really helpful when it comes to hunting for mice and other bugs in the house. And they are great companions too. I think cats are just misunderstood pets, at least to those who don’t know their true behaviour.

Anyway, last night’s episode of Grey’s Anatomy was the one I was itching to watch. It was this episode where the hit song, “Chasing Cars” by Snow Patrol was played on the background right at the end of the final scene. I heard that this song wasn’t that big until it was heard in that episode. I loved this song even before I watched last night’s episode (titled “Losing My Religion”). I think it was really appropriate for it to be played during the scene where Izzie was lying on the hospital bed beside Denny, who unfortunately, just died because his new heart had a blood clot. I really felt sorry for Izzie. She and Denny really loved each other even though they just met at the hospital and only for such a short while. It was really a heart-wrenching episode.

Photo courtesy of Entertainment Weekly

greys-anatomy.jpg

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

